Travel Challenges

European Challenge

So many travellers are concerned with visiting all 197 countries, but I have a smaller, more achievable challenge. In ten years (I’m looking at you, 2025), I plan to visit every country in Europe. And no, passing through as a layover doesn’t count. I mean, really experience every country in Europe.


So often I see travel bloggers and vloggers passing through a country and ticking it off their list. That isn’t good enough for me, I want to experience culture and stay for at least a night.


Why Europe? That’s simple. It’s easy and I’m already there. I live in the UK, so getting from country to country isn’t going to be too much of a hassle.


Will I still visit countries outside Europe? Yes! There’s very few countries I’d pass up a chance to visit and of course I’m still going to write about them here.


What counts as Europe? There’s some countries with ambiguous origins like Russia, Turkey and Georgia. In my eyes, Russia and Turkey are in, Georgia is out. Not that I’d pass up an opportunity to visit Georgia, it’s just not a priority in the next ten years. For the full list of countries, see below:


Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, UK (England, Wales, Scotland & Northern Ireland), Vatican City.


US, Canadian & Australian States/Territories Challenge

Another challenge I’d love to complete in the next 10 years is visiting all 50 states of America, seven states of Australia and 13 territories of Canada.


Why? Why not? Each state/province has something to offer and ticking them all off the list is exciting.


US States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.


Australian States:

New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia.


Canadian Territories:

Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland & Labrador, Nova Scotia, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Yukon